有关艾滋病(后天免疫力缺乏症)

艾滋病病毒的感染

因为艾滋病病毒(HIV)的感染力较弱,所以必须透过特定的感染途径才能传染。只要了解带有病毒的地方、病毒进入体内的入口等,就可以了解如何配合自己的行为去减低受到感染的机会。

艾滋病病毒感染者的体液中,存有艾滋病病毒的包括有血液、精液、阴道分泌物及母乳,而HIV则会透过黏膜及伤口进入人体。

当含有HIV的血液、精液或阴道分泌物直接接触到黏膜或伤口就可能构成感染。黏膜是体内一些湿润的部份,例如口腔、阴导壁、尿道及直肠等。

只要了解不同的性行为中的接触点和有关的体液,就能较易理解哪些性行为会较易引起血液、精液及阴道分泌物与黏膜的直接接触。

共享注射器、针咀有机会让带HIV病毒的血液直接进入血管之内,容易构成感染。

已受艾滋病病毒感染的母亲于分娩时,其血液接触到胎儿便可能构成感染。另外,喂哺母乳亦可以构成感染。

艾滋病的预防方法

性行为

于性行为中避免性器官、肛门及口腔直接接触到别人的血液、精液或阴道分泌物,便可减低感染的机会。使用安全套是避免直接接 触的方法之一。一般购买到的安全套可分为配戴于阴茎及阴道两种。若果难于使用安全套,便应减少与血液、精液或阴道分泌物的接触,并减少接触的时间,以减低 感染的风险,例如不在口腔、阴道或肛门里射精、或于射精后尽快清洗。

另外,亦应该为有机会成为病毒入口的黏膜保持健康,减低感染的可能性。例如在口腔及咽喉有接触的行为之前,就不应刷牙以增加感染风险,而应用嗽口代替。由性病引起的炎症或伤口等会较易引起病毒感染,所以尽该尽快前往接受诊治。

共享性玩具可以引起血液及阴道分泌物与黏膜的接触,所以应该尽量避免共享。若要共享,可以套上安全套以减低体液接触的机会。

共用注射器

共享注射器泛指注射药物时与别人共享同一根注射器。避免共享而每次均使用全新的注射器,可以减低感染HIV的风险。若要共享注射器,亦必须彻底的清毒才能减低感染的机会。

女性感染者的分娩

受艾滋病病毒感染的孕妇,若果及早发现感染,能够感染传染给胎儿的机会。(1)于适当的时间服食艾滋病药物以减低体内病毒的数目;(2)利用刮腹生产;(3)婴儿出生后不进行喂哺母乳;等均可将母婴感染的风险降至0.5%以下。

About HIV Infection

About HIV Infection

The Idea of HIV Infection

HIV is a weak virus and, the method of infection is limited as well as clearly identified.

Once you know where the virus is located and where they can enter the body, it will be easy think of ways to lower the possibility of getting infected according to your own behavior.

HIV infection is possible when the mucous membrane or open comes in direct contact with HIV infected blood, semen or vaginal fluids.? Mucous membranes are the damp parts of the body, such as inside the mouth, inside the vagina, urethra, rectum, etc.

Sex is an activity in which blood, semen and vaginal fluids can easily come in direct contact with mucous membranes.? It is easy determine which body fluid could come in contact with which part of the body depending on the sexual act.

Infection occurs easily from sharing syringe needles because of the high possibility of the blood entering the blood vessel directly.

HIV transmission from HIV positive mothers to their unborn child may occur during delivery because of the possibility of the fetus coming in contact with the infected blood.? Also, infection is possible if HIV infected breast milk is fed to the child.

How to Reduce Your Risk of HIV Infection

Sexual Activity

The risk of infection can be reduced during sex by preventing the direct contact of blood, semen and vaginal fluids to the genitals, anus and mouth.? Using condom is one way to prevent direct contact.? Condoms that can be put on a penis or inside a vagina are being sold.? If your are in a situation where condom use is difficult, risk of infection can be minimized by at least limiting the period of time which the blood, semen and vaginal fluids are in contact with the mucous membrane.? For example, avoid ejaculating inside the mouth, vagina or anus, or in case of ejaculation, immediately wash the part(s) affected.

Keeping your mucous membrane, where the virus may enter, healthy is also related with lowering the risk of infection.? For example, before engaging in oral sex, avoid brushing your teeth which may cause open wound inside your mouth, and gargle instead.? Other STIs can cause inflammation or open wound to your mucous membrane or skin, if this happens the virus can enter more easily, therefore make sure to treat other STI immediately.

Blood, vaginal fluids, etc. can also come in contact with the mucous membrane when the use of sex toys is shared.? Avoid sharing or use condom on the sex toys when you share your sex toys with others.

Sharing Syringe Needles

Sharing of syringe needles occur when drugs are injected using the same syringe used by others to yourself.? To lower the risk of HIV infection, avoid sharing the use of syringe needles or only use new needles or keep a needle for personal use.? When sharing syringe needles, proper disinfection may also lower the risk of infection.

Delivery of Pregnant Women Living with HIV

By knowing her status early, a pregnant woman positive with HIV can reduce the risk of infecting her unborn child. ?The possibility of infection can be greatly reduced by (1) taking anti-retroviral drugs at the appropriate time to reduce the number of virus in the body, (2) conducting caesarian operation during delivery and, (3) not feeding the baby with infected breast milk after child birth.? By combining these methods, the risk of HIV infection from mother to child can be greatly reduced to less than 0.5%.